Review: J. Crew Chateau Trench Coat.

J. Crew Chateau Trench Coat, available in regular (000-16) and petite (000-12) sizes.

J. Crew Chateau Trench Coat, available in regular (000-16) and petite (000-12).

Hello, all! For those residing in the Northeast/mid-Atlantic region, I hope you have been faring well since snow storm Jonas hit. My neighborhood has been a mess since last Saturday– luckily, I was able to to work from home for the first half of the week. However, staying cooped up binge-watching Making a Murderer (omg) and listening to podcasts (currently hooked on Mortified and Rupaul What’s the Tee?) has made me stir crazy and now I’m pining away for warmer, sunnier days. Coincidentally, J. Crew rolled out new arrivals this week and I was excited to see that they came out with a springtime version of their popular Chateau Parka, which has served me well these past two winters. See my previous review of that coat here. I had some birthday and holiday gift cards to burn, so I decided to give the Chateau Trench Coat a try. To my surprise, my order arrived in lightning speed (two days!?) despite the foul weather. So here goes my full review…

The Chateau Trench comes in the two colors shown above: “barley” (tan) and “fiery sunset” (bright red). I tend to gravitate towards neutral, darker colors, but for a change of pace I ended up ordering “fiery sunset”. Here is what the coat looks like out of the box:

The coat is a weighty 100% cotton and machine washable. Personally, I’m not sure if I would put this coat in the washing machine; I’d worry about the fabric getting creased and the ease with which the creases would iron/steam out. The coat is fully lined in an adorable blue and white gingham fabric (95% poly, 5% elastane). To be honest, if not for the gingham detail, this trench wouldn’t have really caught my eye. In person, “fiery sunset” is a vibrant orange-red color and is a nice contrast to the gingham pattern. Taken together, the whole color scheme reminds me of having a picnic in a park, shandy in hand.

The overall construction feels solid. As I mentioned before, the fabric itself has some heft to it and feels quite durable. According to the product description, the coat is water-resistant. Out of curiosity, I stuck one of the sleeves under a running faucet for about 20 seconds and YUP! Nice and water-resistant for all your rainy day needs 🙂

Similar to the Chateau Parka, the fit of the trench is described as classic– “not too loose and not too tight.” I went with Petite 00, my usual J. Crew coat size and the same size as my parka. Here are those measurements (and for comparison purposes, the measurements of Petite 000 as well):

Size P000 Size P00
Overall length (center back) 28.88″ 29.13″
Across shoulders 13.75″ 14″
Chest circumference 34″ 35″
Waist circumference 34.75″ 35.75″
Hip circumference 41″ 42″
Sweep (bottom of coat) 44.75″ 45.75″
Sleeves (from center back of neck) 29″ 29.375″

Overall, the style reminds me of the Matinee Trench that J. Crew sold many seasons ago, except without the belt and with an A-line silhouette. I believe the Matinee also came out in a tan and a bright red color, which I’ve always regretted passing up on. But I digress.

The Chateau Trench has many of the same details as the parka– swingy A-line cut, two snap pockets at the hip, zippered pockets higher up on the torso with leather detailing, and a small inner chest pocket for a cell phone or wallet. It has a hidden zipper and snap button closure in front. The trench is also hooded, but there is no removable faux fur collar here. Note that the hood itself is not removable.

Here is what the fit of the trench looks like (for reference, my measurements are here):

Compared to the parka, the trench has a slightly snugger fit in the shoulder and the cut is slimmer through the arms (I wore a long-sleeved shirt and merino sweater underneath both coats to try on). If you think you are more likely to wear a couple layers under your trench, you may want to size up for comfort and ease of movement. The trench sleeves are also somewhat longer than the parka sleeves. I don’t mind this because if you fold up the cuffs, you can show off a hint of the gingham lining. The bottom of the trench hits me at mid-thigh.

The Upshot: If you are a fan of the Chateau Parka, you will probably like the Chateau Trench. It is a cute lightweight jacket for casual weekends, and “fiery sunset” is such a happy color that it makes me officially excited for spring! If you are looking for something that is more versatile for your wardrobe, I would suggest trying this trench in the neutral “barley” color, which is also lined in blue and white gingham. For those of you who who prefer a trench coat with more classic cut and detailing, I also recommend the Icon Trench, which I previously reviewed here.

Speaking of gingham, check out my “gingham shirt” cookie recipe–it’s the perfect project for your next snow day (but fingers crossed for no more snow storms)!

-j.

2 thoughts on “Review: J. Crew Chateau Trench Coat.

  1. JSR says:

    Great review as always! I’m curious about the Barley color. Wow, I can see the A-line cut of the jacket, thanks for pointing that out.

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

