Exploring Winter Skin Care with Lindi Skin.

lindiskin

The transition to colder weather tends to be a challenge to my skincare routine. That is to say, my skin starts to freak out a bit when the air gets colder and drier. I have a hard time adjusting to more frequent changes in temperature and humidity during work and holiday travel season; as a consequence, I have been breaking out more often than I would like.

During times like these, I turn to more gentle products that won’t worsen the state of my skin and will facilitate its healing and recovery. Recently I had the opportunity to road test a couple of samples from Lindi Skin*, a PA-based specialty skincare company. Lindi Skin was created in 2003 as “the first complete skincare line designed specifically for the unique needs of people with the most compromised skin.” Specifically, Lindi Skin creates products that aim to soothe and relieve side effects experienced by individuals undergoing treatment for cancer and related disorders. While I cannot personally speak to the effectiveness of Lindi Skin products among individuals battling cancer and its associated health issues, I can share my experience using these products on my currently sensitive skin during a very busy Fall/Winter travel schedule.

The products I am reviewing are all included in the Lindi Skin Fight Back Pack, a starter kit that includes samples of the company’s most popular products: Body Lotion, Body Wash, Citrus Face Serum, Lavender Face Serum, Face Moisturizer, Soothing Balm, and Face Wash. The starter kit also comes with a $5 gift card for future Lindi Skin purchases. All of the samples conveniently come in a small reusable plastic travel bag.

Below I’ve lined up all of the products in the Fight Back Pack in order of their scented-ness. Products with the most scent are on the far left-hand side, and as you move to the right the scents are less detectable:

lindi_fullset

I was most interested in trying out the Citrus Face Serum and Lavender Face Serum since I ran out of my usual Caudalie Vinoperfect Serum a few months ago. According to the product description from the Lindi Skin online shop, the citrus and lavender serums are “formulated with the highest concentration of our proprietary LSA Complex ®” and “replete with botanicals, antioxidants and vitamins.”

lindi_set1

Right out of the tube, the citrus serum smell is quite strong– the scent reminds me of orange candy, or Sweet Tarts. The lavender serum scent is not as potent, but still noticeable. Both serums have a thicker consistency than I expected. At first I was worried that this would translate into greasiness, but I was pleasantly surprised by the smooth, non-oily texture of the serums when I applied them to my face. I found both formulations to be soothing and non-irritating on my dry skin, though if I had to pick one, I personally prefer the less strongly-scented lavender serum. Side note: Since the serums glide on so smoothly, during my work travels I found that they also work well as a makeup primer in a pinch.

lindi_set2

During my travels home and for work, I also had a chance to try out the Body Wash and Face Wash. The body wash contains moisturizing ingredients and, more notably, is a non-foaming formula– I didn’t realize this at first and found myself squeezing out half the bottle trying to work up a lather! All confusion aside, I liked the moisturizing feeling that was left on my skin after I rinsed it out. Occasionally I have eczema flare-ups on some parts my body, and the wash was very soothing/cooling on those dry, patchy areas. If you have similar issues with eczema, I recommend giving this product a try.

The face wash is intended to be a gentle alternative to soap that “washes without stripping and works to achieve optimal pH balance.” Similar to the body wash, the face wash does not lather. The face wash is also less viscous than other face cleansers I have used in the past. For instance, the formula is thinner than my current Cetaphil skin cleanser. However, similar to  Cetaphil, the Lindi face wash leaves behind a nice, clean, and hydrated feeling when rinsed off.

lindi_set3

The three moisturizers in the Fight Back Pack were my favorite products of the bunch. I found the Face Moisturizer to be very hydrating and non-irritating on my face, and also soothing on the red, dry patches around my nose. I like that the formula has no noticeable scent to it– I prefer this when I want to moisturize on a plane but don’t want to bother my seat neighbors with any strong smells.

The Body Lotion is also not scented and “delivers a combination of antioxidants and hydrating ingredients that nourish the skin while reinforcing its natural barrier to prevent moisture loss.” Personally I appreciated that the formula was light and moisturizing, and it didn’t feel greasy at all. I have been applying this lotion right out of the shower and it absorbs pretty quickly without leaving an oily residue behind.

Finally– the Soothing Balm. My absolute favorite of the bunch. This is an all-purpose moisturizer for relieving any dry areas of skin. I have been applying it to my elbows and eczema patches to calm down redness and itchiness. It also makes for a great hand cream– the cold weather not only wrecks havoc on my face, but dries out my hands too. Like the body lotion, this balm is unscented and moisturizes without leaving behind a greasy feeling. According to the Lindi Skin website, this product is also good for relieving discomfort from sunburns. Overall, I recommend giving this balm (as well as the other moisturizers) a try!

*Disclosure: Lindi Skin product samples were provided by Lipton Publicity for the purposes of this review. I was not compensated for this post and all thoughts and opinions about these products are my own. Thanks to Lipton Publicity and Lindi Skin for the opportunity to road test, and thank you for reading!

-j.

Leave a Reply

