Monday Brights: Neon Houndstooth & Tux-Collar Tunic.

Normally for my work wardrobe I stick to a basic palette of black, grey, navy, and white. But every once in a while, when I have a case of the Monday blues, I just need a burst of color to lift my spirits and get me through the day.

outfit_10.12.2015

J. Crew houndstooth skirt (old; affordable and toned-down version here, gorgeous splurge version here) and multistrand pearl necklace. // Banana Republic tux-collar tunic (currently on sale, available in regular and petite). // Ann Taylor heels.

This neon houndstooth skirt is quite a statement piece on its own, so I counteracted the loudness of the colors by wearing it with a more subdued top and accessories. If you’re looking for a non-standard button down for work, I recommend this tuxedo-style tunic shirt. The white banded collar and cuffs are nice office-appropriate details, and the longer tunic length provides additional styling options to experiment with. For this work outfit, I have the tunic tucked into my skirt, but I’ve also worn it un-tucked and paired with skinny jeans and brogues. The tunic is long enough to cover your bum if you choose to wear it with leggings.

Hope you all had a good Monday! Now, on to Tuesday!

– j.

Leave a Reply

