Fitting Room Notes: J. Crew Petite Striped Tweed Sheath Dress & Faux-Leather Pocket Shift Dress.

Dropped by some shops in Center City while running errands today and decided to try a couple dresses on at J. Crew! As usual my measurements are here. Fitting room snaps and brief commentary after the jump.

J. Crew Striped Tweed Sheath Dress

jcrew_striped_tweed_sheath.jpeg

I had high expectations for this dress after seeing it online– the combination of colorblocking and chevron stripes makes for a visually flattering silhouette. Note that the patterned tweed runs down the center front part of the dress only. The rest of the dress panels are black double-serge wool. It has an invisible back zip in back, is fully lined, and has no pockets. I forgot to take note the material composition, but from the look and feel of the dress and recent J. Crew manufacturing history, it is a wool/poly blend. Here’s a close-up of the black and grey striped tweed panel (colorway is called “Black Dusk”):

jcrew_striped_tweed_sheath_close.jpeg

The dress is available in regular, petite, and tall sizing. I tried on size P00 and would say it runs true to size. The overall silhouette is fitted to the body, but not tight, and the length hit me at just above the knee. Actually, the fit and cut are very similar to the tipped tweed sleeveless dress that I reviewed a couple months ago (for a detailed review with measurements, see here). Something important to keep in mind– in the stock photo on the J. Crew website, the neckline looks like it is a v-neck. It actually isn’t. The neckline is rounded (sorry you can’t see that in the photo below… darn you big clunky phone).

jcrew_striped_tweed_sheath_fit.jpeg

The Upshot: I like the overall cut and fit of this sheath. The black side panels create a slimming effect, and the striped tweed panel visually narrows the waist to give the overall illusion of an hourglass figure (something I always struggle to achieve). If you have a straight-ish body type like I do, then I would recommend giving this dress a try. On one hand, the striped pattern on this dress makes it an interesting, office-friendly statement piece. On the other hand, I struggled to think of very different ways of wearing this dress precisely because the striped pattern stood out to me so much. Given its more limited versatility, I would probably consider buying this dress down the line if it were on sale with an additional discount.

J. Crew Faux-Leather Pocket Shift Dress

This dress actually came home with me, so I’ll be posting a more detailed review of it very soon– stay tuned (ETA: more detailed review and outfit ideas are in this post)! In the meantime, here are some fitting room photos of the P00. The dress is available in regular, petite, and tall. Overall the silhouette of the dress is straight, i.e., the fit is more relaxed, but not baggy. Length hits at about 2-3 inches above my knee. True to its name, the dress has black faux-leather patch pockets in front; the heather charcoal fabric is a wool/poly/viscose blend. An exposed zip runs down the back.

The Upshot: I’ve been on the lookout for more relaxed silhouettes for the fall (don’t really need any more sheaths in my closet), so this dress feels very promising to me. I think that the dark grey color and the simplicity of the design lend themselves to more outfit combinations than the striped sheath. I can see myself wearing this on casual days at the office and on weekends as the weather cools down.

Ok, that’s all I’ve got for now! Talk soon,

-j.

3 thoughts on “Fitting Room Notes: J. Crew Petite Striped Tweed Sheath Dress & Faux-Leather Pocket Shift Dress.

  1. Lauren says:

    Hi! Thanks for the great reviews! I really like both dresses and love how you layered with a long sleeve shirt. I’m really tempted to get the faux leather pocket dress and when I looked this morning it was marked down to $119 (before the 30% off). Just thought I’d give you a heads up!

    • fivesouth says:

      You’re welcome, Lauren! And thanks for bringing my attention to the markdown– that’s awesome! I kind of had an ominous feeling when I used my educator discount last weekend that I’d still be running the risk of it going on sale in a week or two. I’ll definitely be going in for a price adjustment!

Leave a Reply

