No Stress Dress: Three Easy Pieces, 09.19.15.

I’m on my second consecutive week of 10+ hour work days. My brain is in a fog at this point.

When things get this busy at the office, I rely heavily on simple garments and accessories that I can throw on and look halfway presentable in. I’m out of bed and out the door in 15 minutes, no fuss. Here is this week’s “struggling-to-keep-it-together” outfit with three easy pieces…

br_shirredknitdress2

Banana Republic shirred knit dress (available in regular, tall, and petite; my review here // Banana Republic cutaway soft blazer. // Thrifted beaded necklace. // L.K. Bennett Tortoise Kitten Wedges (available in navy patent and black suede).

I’ve had this knit dress since February and highly recommend it. It’s easy to dress up or down, the jersey is soft (I hand wash it to avoid pilling), and the ruching adds some nice visual interest to an otherwise basic dress. The blazer is a fairly recent sale acquisition– the silhouette and cut of the lapel remind me of my Theory Lanai blazer but in less structured fabric, so I can wear it to the office or on the weekends with jeans.

The kitten wedges I’m wearing were an eBay find from several months ago. I like tortoise print patent leather as an alternative to a leopard print shoe– it’s a more subtle animal print, and slightly more interesting than your standard black or navy leather heel. The low wedge is really comfortable and a godsend for days when I have to walk across campus from meeting to meeting.

br_shirredknitdress1

Also, just a brief update on this Tumi work bag (I reviewed it in this post)– after daily use for the past three months this tote has held up extremely well, considering I’ve been lugging around really heavy books and stacks of files plus my clunky work laptop! I do think that having a base shaper at the bottom of the bag has helped keep it in good condition. The inexpensive base shaper I made has turned out to be surprisingly durable– to make one for your bags, check out my DIY instructions in this post.

Happy relaxing weekend everyone,

– j.

Leave a Reply

