GPS: Coupons. A Love Story.

As you might have surmised from previous posts, I love a good sale. I also love coupons. And when I can stack a coupon or discount on top of a sale… well, my heart just freaking explodes.

Cue one of my guilty pleasures: shopping with coupons at CVS. Whenever I drop by, I never skip a chance to scan my ExtraCare card to print out a ridiculous amount of coupons that are as long as I am tall. It’s an amusing diversion during my otherwise mundane weekend errand run. If you’ve ever wondered why CVS receipts are so damn long, read the explanation here. Then check out Jimmy Kimmel’s crusade against long receipts here:

Most of the time, the coupons aren’t applicable to what I’m buying at the moment (usually I’m grabbing some toiletries or a pack of mints to get some cash back… miscellaneous things that I really don’t want to spend much money on in the first place). But every once in a while, the stars align and awesomeness happens. Maybe not “extreme couponing” level of awesomeness… but a tiny win for me nonetheless.

A recent proof of concept:

I ran over to CVS to grab some Father’s Day cards, soap, and shaving cream.

I printed out a CVS coupon for $3 off a $10 purchase of shaving blades and shaving cream. *Sweet*

CVS brand shaving cream is $1.67 each. There was a promotion to buy one CVS brand shaving cream and get one at 50% off = $2.50 for two cans. *Hell yeah*

Needless to say, I used the coupon to stock up on 8 cans of shaving cream at about $0.88 apiece, which should last me through to next year. I know this because I made the same exact purchase nearly a year ago. I tip my hat to the big data folks at CVS who figured out the algorithm for predicting my shaving cream purchases. Kinda cool, but kinda creepy too.

-j.

Leave a Reply

