Wearing the Same Thing to Work Every Day: Yay or Nay?

Source: Ryan McGuire, Gratisography.

Since starting the process of de-cluttering, I’ve been thinking a lot more about streamlining my closet. This isn’t the first time I’ve thought about it, but our recent move put a lot in perspective. When my S.O. and I moved into our new apartment, we were unable to unpack for a week and a half while the entire space was being re-painted and scrubbed clean– a gargantuan feat, given that we could barely walk through a room without running into stacks of moving boxes and furniture. That said, we were basically wearing the same things to work every day… and it was painful. For about three days. After that, I was so stressed out, tired, and preoccupied by work that not having to think about my outfit was actually a relief. The funny thing is, no one at the office noticed my clothes were on repeat (or at least, they were polite enough to not point it out).

I’ve gotten around to unpacking my wardrobe, but the experience of repeatedly wearing the same white shirt, black pants, blazer, and black heels to work has taught me something: I actually like the idea of having a work uniform of sorts, because I haven’t had the energy to put much thought into what I wear to the office. This idea of a uniform was reinforced when I came across this article earlier this week (a quick read, highly recommended). Matilda Kahl echoes my sentiments exactly:

“To state the obvious, a work uniform is not an original idea. There’s a group of people that have embraced this way of dressing for years—they call it a suit. For men, it’s a very common approach, even mandatory in most professions…

…The thought of reclaiming the driver’s seat can feel overwhelming, but even small changes can make a huge difference. The simple choice of wearing a work uniform has saved me countless wasted hours thinking, “what the hell am I going to wear today?” And in fact, these black trousers and white blouses have become an important daily reminder that frankly, I’m in control.”

While I don’t think I can personally wear the exact same thing to work every day, I like the idea of having a fail-safe “template” to use when I get up in the morning. I don’t consider myself a minimalist (I like clothes too much to go down that road), but having a template appeals to my desire to stress less about my outfit choices, focus my energies on other things, and always feel comfortable and confident when I walk out the door.

I’m interested in hearing others’ thoughts about the article and the idea of a work uniform. Do you wear the same thing to work every day? If not, would you try it out? Why or why not?

– j.

 

One thought on “Wearing the Same Thing to Work Every Day: Yay or Nay?

  1. kim says:

    Absolutely. Like many creative forms, personal style can be formulaic without being literally repetitive. Interested to hear more of your thoughts on this and see where it takes you 🙂

Leave a Reply

