Review: J. Crew Tipped Tweed Sleeveless Dress.

J. Crew Tipped Tweed Sleeveless Dress

J. Crew Tipped Tweed Sleeveless Dress. Available in Regular and Petite.

Since trying on this tweed dress at BR, I’ve been intrigued by small design details that that aim to flatter the body, especially the waistline. This tipped tweed sleeveless dress from J. Crew caught my eye as it has a couple of features that are similar to the BR dress, plus some additional details that I really love.

Here are a few photos out of the box:

Approximate measurements of size Petite 00: overall length (neckline to bottom hem) 33″, across shoulders 10″, under arms (armpit to armpit) 14.5″, waist 12.5″. Material: 39% cotton, 36% polyester, 16% acrylic, 6% viscose, 3% other fibers; 100% polyester lining (the dress is fully lined).

The fabric is a tightly woven tweed with flecks of navy, white, pink, and the tiniest bit of silver thread. In my opinion, it’s a nice switch-up to my usual black/white/grey/navy work palette of late.

The tweed also has more structure to it than I expected. It looks to be bonded on the back with some scuba-like fabric, which might explain this– this dress definitely won’t wrinkle easily. The shimmer is quite pretty and not so obvious unless you look at it close up, so it’s appropriate for a day in the office but also great if you want to go out for drinks after hours. I could also envision wearing this dress to a wedding or baby shower. Bonus points for versatility.

The dress is fitted, but comfortable to move around in; the hem hits right above my knees (I’m 4’11). In contrast to the BR tweed sheath I mentioned earlier, this one is slightly more demure– i.e., no see-through mesh inserts at the top of the shoulders to drive me nuts. This dress also has the bra keeps and hidden back zip that I prefer.

There is thin navy piping at the neckline that is mimicked at the bodice and along the top of the front pockets. The detail is very subtle and creates a slimming, curve-creating illusion at the waistline. This was the selling point for me.

The Upshot: With work travel and meeting presentations in my horizon, I think this will be a nice addition to my suitcase (that is to say, the thick fabric will pack and unpack really well). The overall design and cut is flattering, and the tweed is sophisticated without being cutesy: a more-than-basic basic for the office and the occasional day party. Consider me sold!

-j.

One thought on “Review: J. Crew Tipped Tweed Sleeveless Dress.

Leave a Reply

