No Stress Dress: Outfits (and Some Loft Reviews), 02.17.15.

You know that feeling you get when you’ve been working hard all week, and your co-worker mentions that you get Monday off in observance of President’s Day? I love that feeling.

Clocking in

outfit1_02.17.2015

Schoolboy blazer in tipped wool, J. Crew (old, similar) | Navy wool dress, Ann Taylor (old). | Metallic heels, Corso Como.

Valentine’s day drinks

outfit2_02.17.2015

Scuba flounce dress, Loft.| Liana black leather shooties, Ann Taylor. | Multi-chain necklaces, J. Crew.

N.B. The dress is a recent Loft find ($44 in store, plus an extra 50% off). I was looking for a dress to wear for Valentine’s day and saw this online, but held off on ordering because I wanted to try it on and see the material in person (I’m not really a fan of scuba fabric). Luckily, the dress was available in my usual size at a nearby store. To my surprise, I think the scuba fabric works well with this dress because it maintains the structural integrity of the flounce at the bottom hem. Off the rack, the 00P fits well in the bodice, however if you have a straight body type like mine, there will be some extra fabric in the hips. This isn’t very noticeable because the fabric doesn’t sag; again, the thick scuba helps to create structure/curves where none really exist.

outfit2a_02.16.2015

Extra day off!

outfit3_02.17.2015Elliptical hem sweater, Loft. | Modern skinny ankle zip jeans, Loft. | Colorblock flats, Old Navy (reviewed here, exact here, similar here). | Cashmere plaid scarf, J. Crew (sold out, similar here).

N.B. While I was at Loft I also came across this sweater. I’m not normally a fan orflight or bright girly colors, judging from my deep, negative visceral reaction to blush pink. However, the cheerful citron color of this top was calling my name and pulling me out of my winter blues. The 57% cotton/43% acrylic knit is on the looser side, so you will have to wear a cami underneath to conceal the goods. I’m wearing a size XXSP in the photo below but ended up getting one size larger as I prefer a casual, slouchier look for this particular sweater.

outfit3a_02.17.2015

Happy three-day weekend, all!

– j.

Leave a Reply

