No Stress Dress: Outfits, 1.29.15.

Just sharing a couple outfits I wore to work last week. Note: It’s cold as hell where I am right now. To brave the early morning commute, I have been leaving home wearing a combination of Uniqlo heattech tights (highly recommended, they are seriously helping me cope with life right now), thick socks, and weatherproof leather boots (these are the pair I’ve been wearing and I highly recommend them and the brand in general). I switch into heels when I’m in my office. So here we go…

CLIENT MEETING

outfit1_01.29.2015

Theory Lanai blazer (other colors available here and here). | Banana Republic draped sleeveless blouse in Grey Blue. | Loft Trousers. | Ann Taylor black pointed-toe kitten heels. | Black leather strap watch, Mougin & Piquard for J. Crew. | J. Crew silk scarf. | Gap skinny leather belt.

The scarf was a recent purchase on deep in-store discount. Honestly, I don’t think I’ve purchased anything full-price from J. Crew… like ever? Crazy. Anyways, I love the subtle pattern in the grey/navy colorway. I don’t usually wear silk scarves but I thought this added some subtle visual interest to an otherwise basic professional uniform.

Making it past mid-week…

outfit2_01.29.2015

J. Crew schoolboy blazer in Navy. | J. Crew Boy shirt in end-on-end. |  J. Crew Asymmetrical zip pencil skirt in houndstooth. | Ann Taylor black pointed-toe kitten heels. | Black leather strap watch, Mougin & Piquard for J. Crew. | J. Crew multi-locket necklace.

Again, the skirt was a recent sale purchase. I took a gamble on “Final Sale” and lucked out. The skirt fits well in P00 (from the natural waist, hits right above the knee) and is lined. The color is called Olive Amber Multi– as you can see from the close-up above, it’s a very subtle mix of olive, garnet, navy, and teal.

CASUAL FRIDAY

outfit3_01.29.2015
Loft tuxedo blazer. | Diane von Furstenberg navy silk shirt dress. | Ann Taylor Liana black leather shooties. | Black leather strap watch, Mougin & Piquard for J. Crew | Gap skinny leather belt.

I’m a bit of a blazer fanatic (if you didn’t already notice)– I love them even more when they give off the “grandpa-sitting-next-to-the-fireplace-with-a-glass-of-scotch” vibe. I don’t get to break this blazer out very much. Sure, it looks like the fabric from an old ottoman sofa, but it fits me perfectly, and when I wear it, it makes me very happy.

– j.

2 thoughts on “No Stress Dress: Outfits, 1.29.15.

Leave a Reply

