Raise a Glass: A Boozy, Dirty Chai.

boozychai

Philadelphia was spared by the first “big” winter storm of 2015, but company concerns about icy travel conditions led to a day of telecommuting for me. To be honest, I’m not a fan of working from home; it makes me a little stir crazy. I think I work more effectively in an open office with face-to-face interaction. After a day of spotty online conference meetings and working in front of a small laptop screen, I was glad to see the clock strike 5pm so I could walk around the neighborhood and clear my mind. With my cabin fever sufficiently alleviated, it was about time to partake in a hot beverage (filled with alcohol, of course). So in honor of Juno, I share my recipe for boozy, dirty chai. Enjoy!

Boozy, Dirty Chai Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups vanilla almond milk
  • 4 tablespoons chai mix (I used Oregon Chai mix)
  • 2 shots hot espresso
  • 4 ounces dark rum
  • 2 scoops frozen almond dessert ice cream (optional)

Directions:

Bring water to a boil in an espresso pot (with coffee added to your own specifications). In a saucer, heat up the almond milk (keep an eye on it– make sure it doesn’t boil over). Once the milk is simmering, stir in the chai mix. Pour one espresso shot into each of two mugs. Next, pour chai into each mug. Stir 2 ounces of rum into each mug. Top the drink off with a scoop of almond ice cream. Makes 2 drinks.

Cheers and keep warm…

– j.

2 thoughts on “Raise a Glass: A Boozy, Dirty Chai.

Leave a Reply

