New Year’s DIY: Painted Metallic Leather Clutch.

diyclutch

DIY leather clutch, J. Crew tassel necklace.

Hope everyone had a nice holiday! The long weekend was leaving me restless so I decided to spend an afternoon finishing up a small DIY project. With New Year’s Eve festivities right around the corner, I’ve been thinking about different ways to accessorize my party outfit. I’m planning to wear this tuxedo dress to dinner with friends (dress reviewed here) and don’t currently have an evening bag in my wardrobe. I’m reluctant to spend much money on one since I don’t see myself using an evening bag on a frequent basis. When I found a gold leather clutch on super sale for $10 during the Christmas clearances, I thought the price was just right and decided to personalize it with a just little bit of paint. Check out the how-to after the jump.


Painted Clutch DIY

Supplies:

  • 1 clutch. The clutch I picked up for this project is saffiano leather, which is pretty durable, scratch resistant, and easy to clean. In the past, I’ve painted softer leathers for this sort of DIY project. If you prefer not to use leather, you could also use faux leather or canvas fabric.

diyclutch1

  • Leather paints– I’m using black and burgundy paints for this NYE clutch.
  • Acrylic finisher– This acts as a sealant for the acrylic when you are done painting the leather. It helps to prevent the paint from rubbing off or flaking and is water resistant. I usually use the satin finisher, however, you can also buy this in a flat, matte, or high gloss finish.
  • Paint brushes– I recommend using flat brushes or very small round brushes for this project. I find that the smaller brushes give me more precise lines and the flat brushes are good for spreading the paint around evenly on leather surfaces.
  • Stencils (optional)– I picked up these geometric stencils a while ago at my local craft shop.
  • Metallic Sharpie

The How-To:

First, wipe down the leather with a damp cloth to remove dust and lint. You want to make sure that you are working with a clean surface to prevent unsightly bumps and bubbles from forming in your paint.

Next, trace your stencil pattern onto the leather. Here I used a dark gold-colored Sharpie for tracing so that the stencil pattern would be visible enough for me to follow while painting, but the pen marks wouldn’t be glaringly obvious in the finished product if I happened to miss a spot.

Once your pattern is traced out, start painting. I began by painting certain clusters of triangles in burgundy to create a subtle geometric “flower” design.

diyclutch6

Once I was done with the burgundy, I painted the remaining triangles in black. I air-dried the paint completely for about an hour (you could also set it in front of a small fan to accelerate the drying), then used a small cotton ball to lightly apply my acrylic finisher.

diyclutch8

After drying for another hour, voilà! A fun clutch to use for a night out on New Year’s Eve (and after the New Year, a fun new iPad case):diyclutch7

Hopefully I’ve given you sufficient detail, but feel free to ask me any questions about the process. Happy New Year, everyone!

– j.

2 thoughts on “New Year’s DIY: Painted Metallic Leather Clutch.

Leave a Reply

